Natalie Mayer
12/16/2013 03:05:29 am

I think that Tom stayed the same for the most part. He's still mischievous and adventuress, but I also think that he got more level-headed and mature. When he got trapped in the cave with Becky, I do not believe he tried so hard to escape just to impress Becky. I think that he wanted to help not only himself, but her as well. Instead of just panicking and freaking out, he took the leadership role and kept calm and tried very hard to escape. I think that this is a good example of how Tom got a more mature throughout the story. This being said, he's still a kid and is mischievous and childish as well.

Reply
Veroncia
12/16/2013 03:15:12 am

I agree. He was ch oldish in the fact that he left to become a pirate, but mature in the fact that he returned for his family, not because he didn't like living in the woods.

Reply
Alyzza Cruz
1/21/2014 03:05:27 am

I completely agree. At first I thought this book would just be about the mischievous things Tom went through and all the trouble he caused, but when he was lost in the cave with Becky I feel like his character changed a lot. True, he is still childish and pure hearted but during this time he really stepped up and showed just how mature and adult-like he can act when the situation calls for it. Evidence: "But he felt less and less hopeful with each failure, and presently began to turn off into diverging avenunes at sheer random, in desperate hope of finding the one that was wanted. He still said "all right..."

Reply
Theresa
1/21/2014 03:14:32 am

I agree with you Natalie that Tom did show maturity by taking care of Becky when they were lost in the cave. I think that throughout the book Tom does mature. He learns that stealing is the wrong thing to do and that telling the truth is always the best way to go.

Reply
Megan
12/19/2013 03:16:09 am

I believe that all Tom wanted to do in the beginning of the book is play with his friends. Evidence to support this is,
"'My! Look behind you Aunt!'
The old lady whirled round and snatched her skirts out of danger. The lad fled on the instant, scrambled up the high board fence and disappeared over it." (8)
because it explains that Tom thinks that adventure is more important than anything else in his life.

Reply
1/21/2014 02:59:45 am

I agree with Natalie. In the begging of the book he was childish and less immature but now I think he has become more mature. I think this because when he was trapped in the cave with Becky, he was determined to take care of her and get them both out of the cave.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    December 2013

    Categories

    All